Palm Springs

I mentioned in my first post that this whole blog was inspired by my last trip to Palm Springs, and this is why.

It’s kinda embarrassing to admit it, but despite growing up in Southern California, I never made it out to Palm Springs, until the summer of 2015. As it turns out, I was missing out on a lot.

My first trip took me to the rainbow of fun that is The Saguaro Palm Springs for my friend’s bachelorette weekend. During this same trip I was introduced to the mid-century paradise, The Parker Palm Springs, and more specifically, their restaurant Mr. Parker’s for dinner. After this I swore I would return one day to stay there.

The view from our room #palmtrees #palmsprings #desert #thesaguaro #hotel #ps #mountains #pool

A post shared by Megan (@megpiencake) on

Flash forward to the summer of 2016, and coming up with a plan for my boyfriend’s 35th birthday. As I looked around I realized The Parker had some pretty good rates during the summer. I’m always a bargain hunter, so when I saw they had even more deals, I had to check it out. That’s how I stumbled upon the gluttons delight. Holy crap! We paid $270 a night and received $250 in food credit for each night we stayed. This was a hell of a deal.

This may be the best french toast I've ever had.

A post shared by Megan (@megpiencake) on

The funny thing is, you would think $250 wouldn’t get you too far at such a nice resort, but after a room service dinner, which included a steak, and a big breakfast at Norma’s Diner, we still had $50 to spend before noon. The second day of credit we had dinner at Mr. Parker’s, another breakfast at Norma’s and again, we had $25 left over. This deal was worth every penny.

@jiggysmydayjob and the most beautiful fruit salad ever, from our Palm Springs trip.

A post shared by Megan (@megpiencake) on

As far as the restaurants go, Mr. Parker’s had great food, and the most incredible interior and ambiance (think dark early 70’s men’s club),  but Norma’s was what we kept talking about weeks after. Their crunchy french toast was huge and tasted like a cinnamon roll,  their fruit salad was a piece of art, and the bagel and lox was to die for.

As far as the hotel it’s self, I’ve never stayed somewhere so nice. When I travel I usually look for the cheapest place that doesn’t look like it’ll give you bedbugs, so this was a whole new experience for me. Everyone was so nice and helpful, and apparently the nicer the hotel, the more amenities there are. Things like truffles for our birthday celebration, sparkling water in the room, fruit skewers and spiked smoothies poolside, and little bottles of ice cold water while you waited for the valet.

Already a great start to the weekend.

A post shared by Megan (@megpiencake) on

But the real winner was the ambiance. Everything was so well decorated and put together, from the lobby, to carpet from the shinning in the hallways, to the rooms themselves. The whole grounds were beautiful and overgrown. You would walk around and all of a sudden run in to a croquet set, a fire pit, or a lemonade stand. I really can’t emphasize enough how cool this place is.

Everything there makes it hard for you to want to leave the resort, but we did make one excursion on the second night. One of our favorite tiki bars in LA, the Tonga Hut, has a second location in palm springs so we made sure we stopped by. The Palm Spring location is much bigger than the original, with a much larger drink menu, and a great atmosphere, although the original is still my favorite. I got a chance to wear one of my favorite Trashy Diva dresses and the flower headpiece I made, so I felt particularly snazzy. We had a good time sipping on tiki drinks and making friends with a bachelorette party.

It was such a great trip and I’m itching to go back soon. I probably won’t be back at The Parker anytime soon, but a girl can dream.

Leave a Reply

