Happy pi day!

I’ve been celebrating pi day for at least 14 years now (we won’t talk about how old this makes me). It started when a coworker, who knew my love of baking and all things nerdy told me about it. I celebrated this was a pretty mediocre tasting, but great looking cherry pie. This pie managed to gain quite a bit of Internet fame, and I still see it around every pi day.

861969_b80c870934_o
The original

 

I’ve made a few more pi pies, including a pretty great peanut butter chocolate pretzel pie. Or just what ever pie would strike my fancy. One year I even toted 2 pies out to Arizona because I went out to watch spring training and couldn’t stand to miss pi day, even if I was out of town.

16605993184_d68c0cc3a8_b
peanut butter pretzel pi pie

Over time my friends and I started going out every pi day to celebrate and eat pie. It became our tradition. The location would vary, people would come and go over the years but it was our tradition.

 

Time has gone by and our tradition has slowly faded but I can’t pass up a slice of pie on march 14th. So to celebrate this year, I offer up my favorite pie dough and some pictures of my favorite pies.

Pie dough (makes enough crust for 2 pies)

  • 140 g + 165 g Ap flour
  • 3 g salt
  • 227 g cold butter, cut in to small pieces
  • 58 g water
  1. Mix first amount of flour, salt and butter in a mixer until mixture forms marble sized pieces.
  2. Add remaining flour, mix for 10 seconds.
  3. Add water, mix until incorporated.
  4. Form dough into 2 disks, wrap each in plastic and refrigerate until completely cold.
  5. Roll out to 1/4″ thick. Place dough in a pie pan. Cut off anything dough going more than a ½ inch over the side of the pan. Crimp edges and cool until solid.

 

Leave a Reply

